Connect with us

College Football

If the Expanded College Football Playoffs Began Today

  • by

Alabama would host a pesky North Carolina State.

#2 Alabama and #4 Michigan would have a longer path to a National Championship.

Three weeks ago, it was announced that college football playoff would expand to 12 teams starting in 2026. The format is as outlined by ESPN:

The four highest-ranked conference champions will be seeded one through four with each receiving a first-round bye. Teams seeded five through 12 will play each other in the first round on either the second or third weekend of December. The quarterfinals and semifinals will be played in bowl games on a rotating basis, and the championship game will be at a neutral site, as under the current four-team format.

To clarify, this means that Notre Dame – or any other independent – will never have the chance at a first-round bye, because they will never play in a conference championship game.


If this format had been in place in 2021, the below bracket is how the CFP would have looked. The seeding is based on the final CFP rankings released on December 5, 2021.

Alabama (12-1) SECCG Champ – 1 seed

Michigan (12-1) B1GCG Champ – 2 seed

Georgia (12-1) – 5 seed
Cincinnati (13-0) AACCG Champ – 3 seed

Notre Dame (11-1) – 6 seed

Ohio State (10-2)

Baylor (11-2) B12CG Champ – 4 seed

Ole Miss (10-2)

Oklahoma State (11-2)

Michigan State (10-2)

Utah Utes (10-3) PACCG Champ
Pitt (11-2) ACCCG Champ

Don’t you love it? Baylor gets the 4-seed for winning their weak conference.


If the expanded model of the College Football Playoffs began today, two of the top four teams would have to play an extra game. Obviously, no conference championship games have been played as of yet this season and the CFP rankings do not start until November. Just for kicks, we will seed a hypothetical bracket according to current AP rankings. However, no two teams from the same conference can be in the top four.


Georgia (3-0) SEC – 1 seed
Alabama (3-0) SEC – 5 seed
Ohio State (3-0) B1G – 2 seed
Michigan (3-0) B1G – 6 seed

Clemson (3-0) ACC – 3 seed

Oklahoma (3-0) B12 – 4 seed
Southern Cal (3-0) PAC

Kentucky (3-0) SEC
Oklahoma State (3-0) B12

Arkansas (3-0) SEC

Tennessee (3-0) SEC

NC State (3-0) ACC

In this model, Alabama and Michigan have to play an additional game while Oklahoma and Clemson get a longer time to rest up and prepare for their opponents.

More in College Football